ICC Champions Trophy – All you need to know

The ICC Champions Trophy will return to the international cricket calendar in 2017 with the tournament to be hosted in England and Wales. The games will take place at The Oval, London, Edgbaston, Birmingham, and Sophia Gardens, Cardiff. The first fixture will see the hosts England taking on Bangladesh at The Oval on the 1st of June, 2017.

This edition of the ICC Champions Trophy will include the eight top-ranked teams in the world as per the ICC ODI Championship rankings on the 30th of September 2015. All of the major test teams will be represented, with the exception of the West Indies who were ranked ninth in the world at the cut-off point for this tournament. Their place will be taken up by Bangladesh who was the 8th ranked team. This will be the first edition of the ICC Champions Trophy not to feature the West Indies.

The eight qualifying teams have already been split into two groups of four. In Group A the hosts England will face off against top-seeded Australia, New Zealand, and Bangladesh. In Group B the reigning ICC Champions Trophy holders India will come up against South Africa, fierce rivals Pakistan, and Sri Lanka. The top two sides from each group will progress to the semi-finals, which will be played at Cardiff and Edgbaston on the 14th and 15th of June respectively, with The Oval hosting the final on the 18th of June.

This will be the first ICC Champions Trophy after a four-year hiatus, during which the very future of the competition was in doubt. It was originally announced that the 2013 edition, won by India, was going to be the last in the series with its place in the cricketing calendar to be taken by a new ICC World Test Championship. This decision was later reversed however and so after an extended break, the teams will return to England and Wales for the 2017 tournament.

This will be the second consecutive ICC Champions Trophy to take place in England and Wales, and the hosts will be looking to go one better than last time out when they were beaten by India by only 5 runs at Edgbaston. That game was especially significant for legendary India captain, MS Dhoni, as it saw him become the first skipper to win all the major ICC trophies.

Home advantage may once again prove a big inspiration to the English, but their seeding of only sixth means that they will have to do things the hard way if they want to make it to the final at The Oval on the 18th of June. The second-seeded Indian team will be going all out to retain the trophy, and they are sure to face particularly strong competition from the first seeded Australians along the way. If either of those two cricketing powerhouses were to prevail, it would see them achieve a record-breaking third ICC Champions Trophy, with both nations currently having two trophy victories to their name.

Corinthian Sports has hospitality packages for a variety of games for the ICC Champions Trophy. Click on the matches in the table below to view our amazing hospitality packages.


1 June 2017 England vs Bangladesh (Group A) The Oval, London
2 June 2017 Australia vs New Zealand (Group A) Edgbaston, Birmingham
3 June 2017 Sri Lanka vs South Africa (GroupB) The Oval, London
4 June 2017 India vs Pakistan (Group B) Edgbaston, Birmingham
5 June 2017 Australia vs Bangladesh (Group A) The Oval, London
6 June 2017 England vs New Zealand (Group A) Cardiff, Wales
7 June 2017 Pakistan vs South Africa (Group B) Edgbaston, Birmingham
8 June 2017 India vs Sri Lanka (Group B) The Oval, London
9 June 2017 New Zealand vs Bangladesh (Group A) Cardiff, Wales
10 June 2017 England vs Australia (Group A) Edgbaston, Birmingham
11 June 2017 India vs South Africa (Group B) The Oval, London
12 June 2017 Sri Lanka vs Pakistan (Group B) Cardiff, Wales
14 June 2017 1st Semifinal (Group A Winners vs group B Runners-up) Cardiff, Wales
15 June 2017 2nd Semifinal (Group b Winners vs Group A Runners-up) Edgbaston, Birmingham
18 June 2017 ICC Champions Trophy Final The Oval, London